A Fork in the Road

You ever been at a point where there’s a fork in the road?  Metaphorically speaking, of course.  Like you’re at a point in your life where you could go two, three, four, or five different ways, but you’re not sure which one to go to.  As a matter of fact, you don’t even know if you’re on the right road in the first place.  We’re all conditioned in life to go on a certain “path to success.”  Everything flows in one direction and we are all “going with the flow.”  But the flow isn’t always right for everyone.  And sometimes it takes a long time for people to realize that.  Just because you take a different path than someone else shouldn’t mean you’re crazy.  It just means you take the road less traveled.  That’s my life motto.  I like doing things that are done less because it fuels the fire.

I’m not normal.  Anyone I know will tell you that.  I just feel different from everyone, like I’m unique or something.  And I am, but I’m extremely different.  I have these thoughts that just appear in my head that are quite funny, for the most part.  I choose more of a creative way to look at the world than an objective perspective.  It’s kind of like one of those pictures psychoanalysts show mental patients and ask them what they see.   Those ink blots.  I would come up with some of the craziest things, and I bet it wouldn’t even be in their manual.  It’s all about my perspective.  I guess it’s just a little askew from the rest of the world.  But I celebrate my uniqueness every waking moment.  If I see something differently, I let them know.  If someone says, “An apple a day keeps the doctor away,” I’ll say, “An apple a day puts the doctor out of business.”

It’s just a little unreal when I look at some people who just do what people tell them to do.  They don’t question it.  They don’t even think about it.  All they do is follow some presupposed path that someone else lays out for them.  It’s like they don’t know what to do themselves, so they put some “life coach” in charge of their life.  Everybody supposedly has a role model that they try and base their life on at some point.  But at another point in their life, they realize they don’t want to be who they’re modeling.  They just want to be themselves.  Why should I try and be Tony Danza when I don’t have his acting ability or his funny name?  I just can’t do it.  I can choose to be myself or no one else.  Going with my gut is something that’s very powerful.  I’m learning to trust in what I feel, not what others suggest.  I just do what I want to do, and let everyone do what they do.  Live and let live, I say. 

But at some point, I’m sure I’ll try and encourage people to live their lives in a more conscious manner.  Sometimes I look at certain people and think, “How the hell are they ever going to make it?”  Someone who follows life philosophies of Starr Jones and Paris Hilton are not going to last very long.  I’m sure they’ll figure that out on their own, eventually, when they reach a higher state of awareness.  You can’t be someone else, and even if you could, it would be boring.  It would just be another copy of someone who already exists.  I, for one, could not live with two Kathy Griffins running around.  Believe me.  So, let those that inspire you do so, but don’t strive to be just like them.  Strive to be who you are and then some.  And be sure to work hard at it.

People often look at hard work as something that they don’t want to do.  Most people don’t do it.  And that’s why you should.  There’s a lot less competition because so few people will have the willpower to go to the lengths that you do.  Sure, instead of writing this article, I could have put on the TV and watched a marathon of Sanford and Son.  But I chose not to.  Not because I don’t like the show, but because what I’m doing now is so much more motivating to me, there’s no competition. I feel like I’ve finally found my outlet to the world and I’m taking as much advantage of it as I can.  You may not agree with everything I say, but you know, that’s not what I’m looking for.  I’m just looking for people to read.  People to return.  I’m looking to inspire people to chase after their dreams like I am. 

None of us really know why we’re here.  Whatever you believe, that’s up to you.  But until you actually have a purpose in your life, there’s no reason for really living.  You don’t want to live another forty years working at Wendy’s.  You don’t want to spend the rest of your life collecting disability and moping around in your two-room apartment.  You want to live your purpose.  So what’s stopping you?  Your fear of failure?  You are going to fail.  Fail a lot.  Every successful person has failed.  And what separates them from the non-successful is their will to keep going after every failed attempt.  That’s what is going to make you stand out.  Hard work.  Being persistent.  Knowing that without these qualities, success isn’t impossible, but it is much, much more difficult.  Create a life plan.  Know what you want out of life.  And don’t settle for something else when you know what the person inside you is saying.  “I want to be me.” 

Leave a Reply

