One Month To Live

What would you do if you had one month to live?  One month.  That’s it.  How much time would you spend doing certain things?  It’s a question that not many people can answer intelligently.  However, it can provide some unique motivation.  Let’s say you knew for a fact that in thirty days you were going to die.  That was the definite.  What would YOU do? 

There would be plenty of things I would do.  I would conquer all my greatest ambitions.  I would go places, travel the world, and lead a campaign against whatever I was dying from.  I would get the recognition I deserved because people would know that in a month, I would no longer be available.  I would lose all fear in anything I did, knowing that anything I did is less fearful than the fate I would meet in one month.  And this got me thinking:  If living in this manner makes you a more proactive person, then why not base your whole life philosophy on this?  Just live your life as if you only have a short amount of time left.  For the most part, it’s true.  Life is short.  You only live for so long, right?  So if you harness your life now and do what it takes to be who you really want to be, as fast as possible, then you will be closer to being who you really are.  You will no longer be afraid to be yourself.

So I guess the moral of this whole post is to live your life in conjunction with the theory that we only have a fixed amount of time on this planet, so you might as well get everything you can out of it.  Don’t wallow in what might have been.  Think about the immediate future, in terms of who you are now and who you want to be in the next month.  It’s a hell of a lot better than remaining complacent in your position.  I know it’s late, and I have to be getting to bed, but I just realized how much time I wasted watching three hours of Law and Order/ HOmicide life on the streets.  I really have to start not doing things like that and becoming the person I need to be. 

The most amazing story ever told was of the magic genie.  You get three wishes, but be careful what you wish for, it will come true.  So if you have goals that you want to come true, make them so.  And if you really do want them enough, they will come true.  I know because I’ve read so many stories about this sort of thing.  It’s just so great to still be here and knowing that no matter how bad situations get, I can pull out a joke I’ve written or listen to some comedy albums, and my mood cheers right up.  I do need to just live.  Just breathe.  It’s all a part of the cycle.  We’re just star dust any way you look at it.  So might as well do something before we become plant food again.  Peace out.

Leave a Reply

