Blogging As a Means of Income

I’ve been doing a lot of reading lately, way too much in fact.  Steve Pavlina’s website has a lot of articles about monetizing your blog in order to maek a living out of it.  That would be amazing if I could do that eventually, but this blog is just in its infancy.  I’ve got to build something up before I take this into high gear.  I have a lot to learn about different web technologies, which I hope to cover in the next few weeks.  I need to learn how to use trackbacks and social bookmarking to somehow boost this blog’s traffic.  I need some way to get myself out there.  I’m not going to advertise or anything.  I just want to get this into high gear.  There are many reasons why I want to monetize this blog and I’ll go over them below.

1.  Freedom:  By freedom I mean freedom from a job, freedom from being in a time-bound job.    I feel that a job like that really limits the amount of money you can make to when you are working.  If you have a blog, every time someone visits it or clicks on an ad or whatever, they end up making a certain amount of money for you.  It could happen now, later, next wek, whatever.  All I know is that if I’m getting paid all the time, I’ll be much more independent of other people’s work schedules and I can write when I want to write and not when I don’t feel like it.

2.  An Amazing Paradigm:  Just imagine, my blog, the thing I use to write personal thoughts and articles in, could be my means of income.  That is just very motivating to me.  I write an article and it makes me money.  Not just in the here and now, but for many many months or years.  People will read it now, and others will read it later.  It’s quite amazing.  It’s not like writing an article in the newspaper because when you do that, people read it for one day and then forget about it.  Even magazines are forgotten after a month or so.  But a blog is a permanent fixture barring a massive internet crash.  So, it’s really not a bad idea in a nutshell.  I want to create content first, however.  That is my main goal.  Create valuable content and then see if people read it, and make money off of it.  Not millions, that’s not what I’m looking for.  I’m just looking for enough to cover my expenses and then a little more for security.

3. Way Better Than Having a Job:  This kind of work is way better than having a job because I can’t get fired.  There is no one who can say I have to stop blogging.  And even if one of my sources of income doesn’t work out, I still have all the others.  There’s no way that it can really fail completely, unless I don’t get the traffice.  I intend for more traffic right now.  Then I can just concentrate on this site, my stand-up comedy, and my social life.  Right now, I’m working a job, writing on this site, writing jokes in my spare time, looking for places to perform, etc, etc, etc.  And work doesn’t challenge me.  It’s too easy.  It’s like asking me to read a book.  It’s completely irrelevant.  It’s not going to make a difference.  When I die, I won’t get a broadcast to remember the cashier from BI-LO at the Beach.  So I have a distinct feeling that what I’m doing now is thirty to one hundred times more gratifying than a stupid job.

4. The Impact:  I have millions of people at my fingertips here.  Every article I write has the potential to be viewed my millions.  That is very motivating, but it also places a lot of responsibility on my shoulders.  I have to make sure what I write won’t hurt people, but will help them.  I’m going to share personal stories and how I dealt with certain things in my life.  I’m going to write humorous posts to make you laugh.  I’m going to write abstract ideas down that would be pretty funny if it happened. 

5. Expression:  My personal expression of comedy is something that I embrace to the fullest extent.  I will talk about things that may offend you, some that may leave you laughing so hard you will suffer a massive coronary.  But we will embark on this journey together.  It will be an amazing experience and I want you to stay tuned for some amazing and possibly peculiar topics on conversation.  It’s going to be amazing.

6.  Motivation:  I feel motivated to write almost every day.  And when I don’t, I just don’t.  And it’s my choice.  There’s no boss saying, “I want those reports on my desk by five.”  It’s more like, “I’ll get that done whenver I want to.”  And that’s the way it’s going to be.  Forget deadlines, forget tests, forget all those things that other people make to have you prove yourself.  Who are they to judge what you know?  And who are they to give you deadlines?  Life shouldn’t be about deadlines, they should be about expression and motivation.  That’s all I have to say today.  Have a nice weekend.

Leave a Reply

