Laughter is a Great Medicine

I’ll never forget what happened to me a little less than four years ago.  It was late August, and I was on vacation in Myrtle Beach.  I ended up in the hospital undergoing two brain surgeries in three days because a tumor was pinching off one of my ventricles.  It was so sudden it was breathtaking.  I had never been in the hospital before and it was not a pleasant experience.  But I lived through it and much more trials after that.  I used humor to help me through my painful experience and I sure hope I can convince you of the benefits of laughter.

Upon returning home, I still had a tumor near my brainstem.  I would often feel very depressed as I would get extreme headaches all the time and be unable to focus my eyes whatsoever.  It was a very dismal state.  The surgeon in Providence, RI said he couldn’t do anything for me, so we decided to go to Boston, MA.  A doctor said she could take the tumor out and she did, at least most of it. We found out what it was and it was cancerous.  The good news was that it was curable via radiation.  Thirty days of radiation and I would be cured.  I was so happy.  I finally had the disease beaten.  And here’s why I didn’t succumb to suicide or depressing thoughts.

I began watching a show called Seinfeld because I didn’t feel good enough to do anything else except watch TV.  I thought the show was amazingly funny and I really felt it was the funniest thing I’d ever seen.  I laughed and laughed and laughed all throughout the months leading to my gigantic surgery in Boston, all through my radiation therapy, and afterwards as I was recovering and regrowing my hair back.  I began pursuing writing jokes myself and this became an obsession with me.  I saw the power that humor had.  I knew that without humor, something even more terrible would have happened to me.  And I committed my life to laughing and making other people laugh.  That is my mission. 

Sure, it will be nice if I become a famous comedian.  I’ll be living my dream and feeling fantastic.  I just owe humor so much of my life.  I even got to meet Jerry Seinfeld through the Make A Wish Foundation.  I want to do more, though.  I don’t just want to be a comedian.  I want to be someone who advocates laughter in everyday life.  I want to be someone who can cheer someone up from this cruel world from any kind of ailment they may be suffering from.  I feel that it is my responsibility.  Humor gave me a second chance and I will do my best to give that gift to the world.  It’s not just that I want to.  I need to.  I have to.  It’s not a choice.  It’s a mission.  And I invite you to embark on this mission with me.  Without laughter, the world would be a terrible place.

So I want you to go home today and just find something that makes you laugh.  Just do it.  It’s something that will let you forget about all your troubles and just think in a positive way.  That is why I feel that laughter is indeed a wonderful medicine.  It may not be the best medicine, but it sure doesn’t have any side effects, which is so rare today.  If you’ve learned anything from this post, having a sense of humor can be vital in certain situations, so don’t be afraid to let it out.  Until next time, laugh it up.

6 Responses to Laughter is a Great Medicine

  1. […] I’m sure you read my previous post on how I got through a brain tumor using laughter through the whole surgery process, the whole radiation process, the hair loss, everthing.  And I emerged victorious.  Not just because the treatment worked, but because I had a positive attitude through all the laughter I was getting frome everyday life. […]

  2. […] the Internet on Myspace.  They read one of my blog entries from one of my older blogs entitled:  Laughter is a Great Medicine.  I believe I transferred it here as well, but I’d rather just link to the original post.  […]

  3. […] sure you read my previous post on how I got through a brain tumor using laughter through the whole surgery process, the whole radiation process, the hair loss, […]

  4. Tasneem R says:

    When i started reading your post I felt so sad for you and I felt empathy for you but as I kept on reading I discovered what a strong and courageous lady you are ! You had actually beaten that life-taking illness .What actually saved your life was humor i agree but more than that it’s your faith in humor and in yourself which is why your among us ! God Bless .

  5. Tasneem R says:

    You may view some interesting stuff here – http://www.3smartcubes.com/ . Its a nice site consisting of tests related to IQ , Personality , Relationship and Career . Many fun tests too !

  6. Rajni says:

    I felt too much stress in my life. but when i discover laughter is a big medicine to keep away stress. Than i try to always happy and because of that my stress was gone.

Leave a Reply

