Reduce TV Watching For a Better Life

I read this article on Steve Pavlina’s blog called 8 Changes I Experienced After Giving Up TV.  So I decided to try it myself.  It’s been a little over a week since then and so far, so good.  I haven’t watched any TV whatsoever.  What it’s done for me is it’s allowed me to tap into my creativity more often and I feel like I have more time to do the things I feel I never have time to do.  Like I wanted to start an exercise program before, but I would alsays think, “I don’t have enough time.”  Now that TV viewing is out of my daily routine, I find I have more time to do it.

Also, I feel like not watching TV has really improved my overall thinking skills.  It’s probably because I’m not really doing any passive activities anymore.  By passive, I mean both my mind and my body are inactive.  For the most part, TV is a very passive activity.  Now that my mind is working 24/7, I find its skills are building up at a faster rate.  I’m much more witty and can think better on my toes than I could watching TV all the time.  It’s almost like my mind has expanded outside of the box, the TV box.  You know, I could never figure out how they could fit all those people in there anyway.  It must be awful crouwded.

Another thing I’ve been noticing is that my creativity has become much more sufficient.  It’s almost like I can think of a very abstract joke and turn it into gold much quicker.  I’ve been able to concentrate better on the task at hand as well.  This is probably due to no distractions.  It’s been really interesting because I’ve been able to work really hard for extended periods of time without worrying what’s on at 9:30.  Time has become less meaningless.  The only reason I keep track of it at all is so I’m not late for work.  But besides that, it’s utterly meaningless to me now. 

I’ve been doing some reading lately as well.  I read a book devoted to juice fasting and detoxification and I also read a book written by Jerry Seinfeld called Seinlanguage.  It’s a good read.  I’m going to start reading much more.  I’ll probably end up becoming more of a reader than anything else besides a comedian.  I’d rather expand my mind with reading than with utter nonsense reality shows like Survivor (not even worth supplying a link). 

I didn’t really watch that much TV in the first place.  Sometimes I would watch South Park and King of the Hill and maybe every once in awhile, The Simpsons.  But I started to change my viewing habits.  I started watching Law and Order: SVU and CI.  Don’t ask me why, but I just did.  Then I went to Court TV, with all those Forensic shows.  And I became fascinated in them to the point where I would stay up until four in the morning watching these shows that had absolutely nothing to do with me.  Sometimes I would come to my senses and say, “Why do I care about this?”  But often I just stayed up all night watching these meaningless shows. 

This kind of new behavior without TV has really made me feel more ambitious and more inclined to be outdoors than indoors.  I find life so much more excitng than passively sitting in front of a television set, waiting for my eyelids to close.  It’s jsut something you have to do to experience.  Let me ask you something:  How much TV do you watch each day?  How much time is that in a year?  If you calculate that, you’ll realize that you’ll probably have almost a waking week worth of TV watching each month.  And it’s time that could be better spent doing things you enjoy. 

This is why when I go about this for a year, I highly doubt I’ll even have a TV.  If I do, it will be like a really old one that probably won’t even work.  I may get a DVD player though, because I do enjoy movies because a lot of them provoke deep thought and there’s no commercials.  But I really find it’s much better to be without it than with it.  And it’s not like I’m even thinking about how much I’m losing.  I know I’m gaining in doing this.  And you should give it a try.  You’ll thank me for the time.  Time isn’t something you can get back, so start saving it today.

2 Responses to Reduce TV Watching For a Better Life

  1. Bridget says:

    I don’t know that I’m on board for giving it up completely, but we certainly do not have the typical 4-6 television household. We have one that is actually hooked up to DTV and one that is for children’s video watching only in the basement. I think I’m the only person I know that doesn’t believe in televisions in bedrooms (adult or children) and doesn’t leave the television on for “noise” all flippin’ day long. It’s not on during meals and it is turned off during the majority of the day. I don’t get the obsession with it myself and I’m not addicted to any television shows. I enjoy several shows but my day doesn’ t end if I miss something. I have the capability of getting hooked on shows, don’t get me wrong, so I avoid ever watching them. As a family we watch a few shows together: American Idol (more for humor than anything – and we didn’t start watching until the 3rd season), Little House, The Waltons (yes they still show them and they can still teach a good story line to kidlets), Survivorman, and various TLC or Discovery Channel shows. Aside from that I can’t tell you one thing about any of the top television shows or their plots. We’d rather watch a movie and call it a night.

    On a different note, your posts are interesting and fun to read. I hope you start getting the “traffic” you are looking for.

  2. Antibush says:

    Bush goes ballistic about other countries being evil and dangerous, because they have weapons of mass destruction. But, he insists on building up even a more deadly supply of nuclear arms right here in the US. What do you think? What is he doing to us, and what is he doing to the world?
    If ever there was ever a time in our nation’s history that called for a change, this is it!
    We have lost friends and influenced no one. No wonder most of the world thinks we suck. Thanks to what george bush has done to our country during the past three years, we do!

Leave a Reply

