Technological Frustration

The Internet where I live has been so unreliable lately. It’s just terrible. And I’m starting to wonder why I even have it in the first place. Is this constant frustration worth $39.95 a month or am I just supposed to accept it? It took more than twenty minutes for me to go from the WordPress homepage to the place where I post blogs. I actually typed most of this in a Notepad document. It’s just getting to the point where I may just get rid of this so-called Internet and maybe just do blog posts at my public library. I’m just sick of having to wait for everything to work. It’s a Cable Internet, too, so it’s supposed to be fast all the time.

All I know is that my computer is starting to act like a regular person more and more every day. It wakes up groggy when I turn it on. It’s very slow for the first hour or so of operation. It also can’t be left on all night or it suffers a very slow reaction, just like someone who went the whole night without sleeping. It’s just crazy. I don’t know what I can possibly do to make this thing run better. I’ve tried everything: defragmenting, freeing up disk space, restarting it, but it still doesn’t want to work. I’ve even tried yelling at it, but to no avail. Technology is supposed to make our lives easier, but it really just makes us more frustrated at how much more complicated things get. The only thing I praise the Internet for was making research papers that much easier, but besides that, it’s more of a waste of time than anything else.

I’m sure we’ve all been in the situation where you’re online and all of the sudden, your connection goes dead or evertying freezes. And let’s say you were having a conversation with someone or you were doing a project and you didn’t save it, and now your coputer is unresponsive, no matter what you do.

I am getting really pissed off with all of this shit. It just doesn’t end. Every day, my computer amazes me in breaking down in some capacity. My AOL is working like it is retarded. Every time I run it, all these error messages keep popping up and they keep popping up after I close them and it happens for like six minutes straight, then stops for two minutes, then starts up again and there’s nothing I can do to correct them because it won’t tell me what the error is. I may just get another computer and build it from scratch because I want one that will be efficient and also have certain qualities about it that will allow for massive storage and less errors.

An update on the WordPress Page not loading. I have to now restart my computer because it still hasn’t loaded. Don’t you just love technology? It’s such a wonderful thing. I just restarted my computer, tried to log into WordPress, and guess what happened? Error on WordPress! Is anything more wonderful than technology? The only thing that comes close is the DMV, or as I like to call it, the Waiting Decathalon. It’s almost as if the world has come to an end. Because that’s what will happen if the Internet doesn’t start working. Imagine, no computers work anywhere, we’re all just wandering around now that we don’t have the resources to buy something on eBay.

Sometimes I think I should just throw my computer out the window. It will be easy, it being a laptop and all. But you know, I learned something today. The only thing you can actually trust is your own mind. And if you can’t do that, you’re screwed. Sure, a computer is nice because it can store million of letters of information, but that doesn’t mean your memory can’t either. I still haven’t gotten to the WordPress posting template yet and it’s been about forty minutes. Usually, it takes about one to two minutes. On a good day. There must be some kind of problem with the Internet, but whatever. I really just want to get this on the web so people can read it. I’m not going to go websurfing after this. So please work, WordPress. I’ll be good to you, I promise. I’ll post every day. Sometimes twice a day. I promise…

Well, it doesn’t look like it’s gong to work, and if it ever does, this will be on the web, unedited as usual and I really hope you enjoy it, if you ever get a chance to read it. Hey!!! It just started getting up. Finally, I can copy and paste it into the box. I sure hope those features are working today.  Now let’s see what happens when I press the publish button.  I hope it doesn’t suddenly suck my computer into a black hole.  I’ll keep my fingers crossed

Leave a Reply

