Laziness, Blog Purpose, and Eating a Pomegranate

I have been reading a lot of different websites about a lazy way to success and it really inspired me to think about how I look at success and how we view work vs. fun. Here is what I came up with, but it’s not complete yet:

People think that they only way to success is through hard work. Hard work. That doesn’t sound very good, does it? Hard work is not something anyone looks forward to, I’m sure. All of these things I’ve been reading have said that it’s not working hard that grants success, but working from your passion, your strengths. And enjoying every step of the way. Enjoy the process. Don’t set your happiness off in the distant future. Enjoy the path itself. This is why people have so much trouble grasping success. Success isn’t some external validation of your talents, success is inside of yourself. If you are happy, healthy, and comfortable and you do what you enjoy every day and you avoid doing the things you hate to do, you are successful in your own right.

The whole thinking about success is usually given to someone who makes a lot of money and it’s true to some extent if the person who has the money isn’t miserable and didn’t have to step over a hundred people to achieve that success. If you want true success, you have to harmonize yourself with the world and you don’t want to step over anyone to become successful. A truly successful person will try to make it so everyone can achieve the same level of success. People who are successful are not taken aback by external circumstances very much because e their level of inner peace is so grand that it rivals anything that will come in its path.

Here’s a side note on the nature of this blog: I know this blog hasn’t been “funny” very much lately, but it’s only because I’m going through some major life shifts mentally and physically and I’m coming into myself much more than I even have before. I’m learning constantly about various subjects and I’m enjoying myself so much in self-exploration that the joy I have is better than any joke I could tell right now. So, if you come to this website for a cheap laugh, you will most likely be disappointed. But if you want to get a look inside someone who is very funny, but also very insightful and intuitive, you will enjoy this blog. My previous blog tried to start out as a comedy blog as well, but it eventually became the same kind of philosophical, purpose-driven blog. If you want to read it, the link is here.

My next step for this blog is the arduous task of linking blog posts together at the bottom of each entry. I don’t know how long this will take me, but I’ve got an entire life to do this. It’s one of those things where I wish I would have done it as I go, but I just didn’t. So now I have to go through over 100 posts or so and link them to other posts synonymously and it will probably take months. But “the time is going to pass anyway.” That’s one of my favorite quotes from Steve Pavlina. It’s so true it almost begs for you to get off your ass and do something.

But I’m feeling good, feeling great, about the way the blog is progressing. I like how I usually can come up with at least five or so a week and it only takes me maybe a half-hour to forty-five minutes to write a post of this length or more. I’m writing for both myself and the people who read it. This blog is definitely a tool for expression of self and sharing new ideas, or old ones with a different spin on them, to the world.

But I’m not going to do anything overkill. I’ve got plenty of time to get this all done. There are no deadlines. I don’t have to rush. I may even buy a hammock, as I mentioned in a previous post. So, if this blog ever does become successful, it will have done so in a lazy way. And I appreciate that. Being a Type-Z personality, which leades to more relaxations,  is quite a great way to go through life. Now all I have to do is find a lazy way to support myself financially. Maybe I’ll become a freelance journalist/writer. It’s definitely what I love to do. Why would I be writing this right now if I didn’t enjoy it? It’s not like I have to meet a quota or anything.

I know that often my posts don’t have a narrow focus, but you know, neither do I. So I want to share with you a story about a fruit I bought yesterday. Think of it as a post within a post. You’ve seen picture within picture on TV and if you’re familiar with programming, your familiar with nested loops, so here we go:

I’m scared as hell. I’ve heard so much about the health benefits of pomegranates, so yesterday, after some of my co-workers convinced me, I bought one for $2.50. A high price, but I figured it would be worth it. I also heard that it’s a challenge to eat one. So I figured I’d better research it. It turns out that you have to do all these steps and the juice is so potent it will stain anything it touches and it’s recommended to eat it naked. But it even stains your skin, so you’d better eat it as part of an out-of-body-experience. So, there it is, sitting on my countertop, taunting me, laughing in my face. It knows I don’t want to be up to the challenge. But I have to know. I have to know if it’s as good as people say it is. Supposedly it takes almost an hour to consume. So I may wait until Wednesday to eat it because at least I’ll have the whole day to myself. I may have to quit my job if I like them enough because it will probably take five to six hours out of my week. I’ll update you on that situation later.

Well, it’s about time for me to do something, although I’m not sure what. It certainly won’t be writing on this blog. I’ll add links to this post before it goes out, and I’m done writing here for the day. I’ve got to go to work today, but I most likely won’t work to hard. It’s a good thing I get paid by the hour and not by how hard I work because right now, there really is no motivation to work hard anyway. Okay, I’ve rambled long enough. Peace.

2 Responses to Laziness, Blog Purpose, and Eating a Pomegranate

  1. Jon says:

    Dude, I eat 2-3 pomegranates a day. Once you’re proficient, it takes no more than 10 minutes to finish one. Luckily, they’re much cheaper here (grow on trees.)

  2. Deb says:

    Trader Joes sells a mixture of pomegranates/blueberry juice in the big or little bottle for under $5. It’s delicious and only takes 5 minutes to consume. And you can drink it fully clothed, unless you have a drinking problem.

Leave a Reply

