Tempted by the Fruit of Another

I cannot believe how much time it takes to eat an orange, especially one of the navel variety.  It’s like a marathon and it is similar to eating a pomegranate, but nowhere near as frustrating.  Eating a pomegranate was impossible, as I only cut it in half and then said, “I’m done.”  I did not want to spend six and a half hours getting into that thing.  But I was under the impression that oranges are not very time-consuming, but I was dead wrong.  Maybe it’s just the navel variety of oranges, and the fact that they were on sale for 25 cents each, maybe that all contributed to this arduous task.  I ended up buying four of them on Friday night, but I only ate one so far and that was today. 

The skin was a pain to get off, especially because there was still this white pulpy stuff all around the orange.  That must have tkaen me five minutes or so and then I started shaving off some of the pulp with a knife.  I had most of it off on one side, so I decided to take a bite of it to see if it was any good.  It was a taste explosion.  So good, so great, so wonderful.  But I decided to slice it up as I go, slicing off each piece as I wanted it.  I ended up spitting out a lot of the extra pulp as it does not taste particularly good, but I did swallow some of it as well as chewed it into submission.  When I got halfway through the bastard, I was thinking, “I’m only halfway done.  this could be a long day.”  But I pressed on.  I almost cut my finger at least seven times, but noticed it quick enough to get away from the knife.  But I eventually finished it and it left me feeling quite full and satisfied, so I decided to make it my breakfast.  It took me about a half hour to consume…

Here is the reason I feel it was on sale for so cheap:  There is a time investment that is coupled with the low price.  Time is more valuable than money, so I’m feeling like I was duped here.  I can eat an apple in ten minutes, a kiwi in five, some celery sticks in five to ten, but fruits like a pomegranate and oranges/grapefruits take me at least a half hour, with the POM being way longer.  The taste is extraordinary, but the time investment is not.  The time it takes for me to devour something of that magnitude could be spent pursuing other endeavors.  But I guess this is the way one must eat if he/she wants to live a healthy life.  I can get used to it, I must get used to it.  It’s not a hard pill to swallow, but it can take away from my other activities.

I am going to make it a goal of mine to eat three servings of vegetables, three servings of fruit, and at least one serving of nuts each day, preferably all raw.  I may have a soup every now and then, but the goal here is to completely revitalize the nutrients in the foods I’m taking in.  I had never really taken into consideration the damage that’s done to cooked food in the process of cooking.  Although I cannot forsee myself taking cooked food completely out of my life, to eat it as minimally as possible would definitely be a good goal to follow, but then I have to define minimal and possible.  Last night, at work, I was riddled with temptations from coworkers:  “Do you want a piece of pizza?  How about a chocolate bar?”  I said, “No thank you, I just ate.”  I think the best way to go about doing this is to always have a snack on hand.  Something like a pear or some brccoli/celery so that you’re not tempted by other things because you have something at your disposal to steer you away from the “devil foods.”

Another thing that’s been bothering me is dairy products.  They taste decent, but they wreak havoc on my stomach and digestive system to the point I feel lousy when I wake up the next day.  It’s probably best to avoid them as much as possible as well.  Not to mention the cholestorol and high saturated fat content in most of these products, but it’s more the destruction of them that get to me.  They boil these products and mess up the chemistry of it just so it has a longer shelf life.

In a post about whether or not I want to go raw, located here, I talk about how it may be worth a shot trying it out for awhile, but there are so many external pressures in life that totally take away from your attempt, like going out to eat with family.  People are going to wonder why you’re getting just a salad and all that.  “Why don’t you want to eat like a man?”  Things like that.  But that is not really a problem, just a proposed one.  It hasn’t actually happened to me, but the very thought of it, for some reason, can make me change my diet back to cooked foods.  I’ll have to start figuring out solutions to this problem.  I’ll post in the future about this conundrum.  If that’s how you spell that word.  Later.

One Response to Tempted by the Fruit of Another

  1. Yakov says:

    You know, there are different varieties of grapefruit. Try to get the Texas “Rio Star” type – those have a really thin skin and only take about a minute to peel. Mandarins are great, too.
    I agree with you about the pomegranates though. They take me about 40 minutes to clean out, and only 5 minutes to eat (but they’re so good!!)

Leave a Reply

