On a Good Path

I’ve gotten on this remote path lately, a path where serving others is something I don’t mind doing, as it also is serving myself in some way.  I understand that it is better to give than to receive, but you still have to receive some to maintain your physical body and the more money you have, the more you can express yourself in an efficient manner.  Supposedly, there’s a quote that says, “Money makes you more of who you already are.”  And I suppose I agree with this statement to some extent.  I know that richness does not imply happiness and this is something that people have a  hard time underdstanding.  Sure, it may lead to temporary happiness, but this feeling will be soley momentary.  It will not have the lasting effects of inner peace and love for everything in the universe and beyond…

I suppose this inner peace thing came to be in a very relaxed way.  One day I wasn’t working and I was really relaxed and I was thinking, “Wouldn’t it be great if I could feel like this all the time?”  So I started feeling like this at work, at peace, no hostility, no worries about the job, no worries about life, just flowing effortlessly through a world I do not completely understand.  And it’s worked well for myself, as I no longer feel fatigued nor do I feel stressed, for the most part.  There are times when I get out of this state, but it’s not as frequent as it used to be.

Humor and relaxing go hand in hand.  Laughing is a tension relief method that takes me to a place I love to be.  But it has to be genuine humor, not some ill-fated humor, like making fun of a handicapped person.  It has to be something that’s genuinely funny.  I have this resource of material I use to make myself laugh and to put everything in perspective.  Like if I’m ever stressed on my job, I just say, “Hey, who cares?  It’s just a job.  It doesn’t matter.  You’ll be in college again in less than two months and who cares about this job?”  And then I see how trivial it is with respect to the universe as a whole and I almost burst out laughing.

Yesterday, I didn’t get a break until 5 hours fifteen minutes of working, which is odd for the place I work, but the people there NEVER offer me a break, I always have to ask for it, so yesterday, I decided I was not going to ask for one at all and if I didn’t get one, so be it.  So I just work, work, work, in a relaxed manner.  I’m waiting for the break, even though I really don’t need one, I even buy a water so my throat doesn’t become parched while on the clock.  About fifteen minutes after that, I am finally offered a break, but now I really don’t feel I need one, but I take it anyway.  I grab an apple and eat it very slowly, as I have fifteen minutes to eat it.  I savor every bite for what seems like a half hour, then I go back to clock back in.  It has only been fifteen minutes, but how could I have known that?  I dismiss all forms of clocks and time as I find them irrelevant, except when I have to be somewhere at a certain time, but I’m sure if I relaxed that notion, I still would make it to most places on time, and even if I didn’t, what’s the big deal?  It’s not going to kill me.

I’ll never forget the episode of Seinfeld when Kramer says, “I tell time by the sun,” and one of the other characters asks him, “What do you do at night?” and he says, “I’m usually within a couple of hours or so.”  I find that hilarious, while at the same time seeing it has practical use.  Why not?  And why bother with defining time so rigidly?  So we can get credit for working eight hours?  I don’t care about that, I think you should get paid for the value you create, not the time you spend creating it.  It should be, you work, you get done, you leave, no need to work out the remaining hours standing around just so you get paid for what you did before. 

I believe you can do everything in an easy and relaxed manner, in a healthy and positive way, in its own perfect time, for the highest good of all.  I stole that quote from Marc Allen, and he stole it from some lady who wrote a book about something, I don’t have the willpower to look it up right now.  You don’t need to be so rigid and cutthroat.  It’s not the way of the world.  Well, maybe it is now, but it didn’t use to be.  I try and bring this relaxation with me wherever I go so that people around me will be receptive to this and share some laughs with me.  It’s a very enlightening experience to share your relaxation with someone who is down.  It cheers them right up.

Last night I had a conversation about one of my favorite dark comedies, American Psycho.  And we’re laughing at the fact this guy put on a raincoat before he killed this guy and had copies of the New York Times lying around his floor.  The victim asks him, “Is that a raincoat?” and he answers enthusiastically, “Yes, it is!”  So funny.  It’s a really funny movie and I just got the book in and am reading it.  It’s a very superficial story, but it’s so detailed and funny.  But people who are uptight could not see the humor in a homicidal maniac who cares more about which loafers you are wearing than the person inside of you. 

So, I guess the overall message is to take life lightly and don’t get to caught up in the “rat race.”  I see too many people who always neglect their laziness, and while doing so, become so focused they get this tunnel vision and it leads to neglection of opportunities they would otherwise be open to had they not been working so hard.  I realize that it is my duty to lighten up people’s days and slow them down a little.  Relax, take it easy, for an hour every day.  Just reflect, understand, and ponder the nature of our existance and why you get stressed over seemlingly insignificant things.  Just laugh, love, learn, and be happy. 

 I hope you enjoy this post as much as I did writing it.

Leave a Reply

