Christmas Again?

I know yesterday was Christmas and everyone is probably writing about it in their blogs, but maybe I’m not that kind of guy.  Chirstmas was good, and I’ll leave it at that.  I got some things I wanted.  That is all.

One activity I’m going to invite more of into my life is reading, as if I don’t already do enough.  I believe reading will help my writing, which will help people who read this blog.  Writing is something to do to pass the time.  My novel is coming along well, eighty pages single-spaced on Microsoft Works.  I’d say that’s not a bad accomplishment.  I just have a feeling it’s going to be a novel that never ends because it didn’t really begin in the first place.  It could go on for the next twenty years.  We shall see.  I’d like to get it published by the end of 2007.  That’s a lofty goal I can set my sights on. 

Looking back on this year, I’ve been through a lot.  The fact that I am still here amazes me and I continue to grow spiritually and mentally.  My physical body is getting in better shape and is feeling decent.  I’ve made a 180 from where I was at the beginning of the year, although I still feel the same way about some things.  This blog has really helped me get myself “out there” in terms of expressing myself.  No, I don’t use fancy layouts or pictures in most of my blogs because these posts come from deep inside me.  I don’t need photos to prove my point.

This blog is as much for me as it is for everyone reading.  I hope you’ve extracted a bit of information from this blog and continue to visit, as I am going to keep writing, along with writing my novel, so if you want to read, keep reading.  The holidays are nothing more than days that we put extra significance on.  I just think it’s funny that I get paid for not working on Christmas as opposed to any other holiday.  When I call off for Strap Day, I sure hope I get holiday pay and three days off or else there will be a problem.  I need money to fund this eccentric holiday.  You can read about Strap Day in the Archives for December.  I’m just too lazy to put up links today, and I have to go back to work anyway at 2 PM.  If I didn’t have that hanging over me all the time, I’d be able to deck out all of these posts.  Time will tell.  When I finish my novel and get it published and it makes me a substantial amount of money, maybe I’ll take some time off and relax a bit and focus on this blog and possibly another novel.  I’m thinking of writing a novel about working in a grocery store.  It will be a first-person narrative, a subjective story if you would.  I just have to think of a good title for it.  It will be a story about what I’ve experienced as well as some other things I want to throw in.  I’m looking forward to writing it.

Whether or not I ever understand why I’m here, I know I can enjoy my writing and enjoy my reading.  I don’t need to justify any of it.  It’s me.  It’s the whole, “Do you think Mozart’s music was his work?  No, the work was Mozart himself, and he brought it into the world.”  I’m not saying I’m the best writer in the world, not even close.  But I enjoy it.  I’m getting better.  It will only be a matter of time before I no longer have to go to work.  Work will become joy.  Joy will become my state of mind.  I’m already in a lot of peace, but joy and peace wouldn’t be a bad combo. 

Leave a Reply

