Writer’s Block

Lately, I’ve been experiencing writer’s block.  I don’t know what to write about.  Is there anything left for me to comment on, other than the fact I have nothing left in my bag of tricks?  Should I write a post about how I’m speechless, I have nothing to say, just to get my voice out there?  Lacking in any true substance, posts like these should be thrown away…put I press on.

I’ve been reading more novels lately and not spending much time on the computer.  Maybe this is what has led me to not have many solid ideas in reality.  I am not going to do a book review because there would be no reason to do so.  Maybe I should go out into the forest and listen to the birds chirping and maybe they’ll give me a topic to write about.  The last one they gave me was subpar, though.  You probably want me to write about my inner peace or something else, but right now I’m in an apathetic mood.

“I’d be more apathetic if I weren’t so lethargic.”  Apathy is underrated, although I really don’t care.  Why should I care so much about being apathetic when it’s just so convenient?  You know, they say motivation is enthusiasm’s ugly cousin.  I think the problem is I just don’t care enough about certain things anymore.  Sometimes I wonder what’s going on inside my head and then down the road I find out and it was right all along.  Maybe this sort of slump is exactly what I need right now.

I tried writing a post last night, but I just got bored and stopped writing.  Then I tried another one today and I just got less and less interested as time went on.  It was like each post I tried to write was descending towards incoherent drivel.  I don’t understand why.  I feel almost as bad as that time I got arrested for trying to purchase an illegal pad.  I’m just going to have to play through the pain, eat my vegetables, and press on like there’s a tomorrow, but it’s really far away.

Did you ever just wake up and couldn’t think of a good reason to ge tout of bed?  You thought, “Hey, why even bother?  The bed is warm and cozy.  Why should I get up and go into the harsh, cruel world, the reality that shuns you at every corner, why even bother anymore?”  I’ve become more like the people who say the universe is so big and we’re so small, so what difference do we really make?  Even if the world were to explode, it would not be a big deal.  The universe would still be here, but without anyone to observe it, what would happen? 

Maybe it’s all the TV I’ve been watching lately.  I feel forced into it when I’m at someone else’s house, and they’re all watching it, so if I were to go into another room to read, I’d be insulting them because I don’t want to watch some political show about how much of an idiot Bush is and how many people are going to die because of it.  I already know these facts and there is no reason why I need to see them over and over and over again.  It’s quite a large demotivator, and so is going to the mall, with all the materialist merchandise being shoved down your throat at every corner.  I never buy anything at the mall except food and maybe a book.  I just don’t see the point in supporting the evil corporations or donning a shirt from Abercrombie and Fich or American Eagle.  The same fucking clothes with a different logo on it, clothes with paint stains and holes, selling for more than quality jeans and shirts.  I don’t know what this world is coming to, but I feel like I have little control over some of the nonsense I see every day.

Maybe I should buy into this for a week, buy all the decrepid clothes, all the iPods and use hair gel.  Maybe I should, just to see what makes it so damn popular.  Maybe I should watch Access Hollywood and sip champagne coolies while I talk about if Rosie O’Donnel is going to end her feud with Donald Trump.  Maybe I should move to Mars and just get out of this place, it’s starting to get stale.

We;ll see what happens…

One Response to Writer’s Block

  1. Komic Kaze says:

    Wow. I’m not sure what to say…um…you complete me. LOL! Just kidding. Reading your posts makes me feel like I am reading my own thoughts, presented in a linear and coherant fashion. Have you ever heard of the four universal laws? They are kind of like the four agreements (book by Don Miguel Ruiz) but different. They are quite simple; Attraction, Intent, Allowance, & Balance. Your second to last paragraph is a perfect example of a violation of the third law, allowance. If they would just let you be, going into the other room to read would not be rude. Of course, that also means that YOU must understand that doing so is not rude.

Leave a Reply

