Deep Sleep

I think I may have figured out a great way to deepen your sleep if you tend to sleep in the early morning hours (6 a.m. until 10 a.m.).  Well, early morning hours to me.  I’m sure some of you are up around 6 and start your day with a nice morning jog.  Not me.  Anyway, I find that since our biological clock is usually tempted to wake us up at daybreak, since we can see the light through the windows, even if we have blinds, so it is something we need to fight against.  That sun is a powerful energy force that will do anything to wake us up, but I think I may have solved that probelm from my perspective at least.

Here’s what I do:  Let’s say I fall asleep around 2 a.m. or so and don’t want to wake up before 10 a.m.  I can do one of two things.  The first is something that I believe is less drastic, yet still can accomplish a similar effect.  If you are familiar with blindfolds that block out all light, then you know where I am going with this.  Before you go to sleep each night, blindfold yourself so that when you do awaken, you will still believe it is dark.  And if your eyelids sense darkness, it will perpetuate sleep.  The other method is the one I use that completely gets rid of the light, which is me putting all of my covers over my head.  I don’t usually do this all night, just if I wake up in the morning and it is too early for me to wake up, I decide to put all the covers over my head and simulate late night sleep.  It allows me to feel like I am sleeping at night, and when I wake up, I assume it is still early, but when the covers come off, I know that I am ready to go.

I don’t use an alarm clock often, unless I know I have to be awake early for something in particular.  That hardly ever happens anyway.  I am not sure if many people would ever want to sleep in later than they already do, but just in case, this is what I have to say about that.

Sidenote:  I haven’t been feeling very motivated lately.  For some reason I just can’t seem to get started on anything.  It’s almost as if I am in a rut of some sort.  I feel like I should write at least five posts a week for some reason, and maybe that is the porblem.  If I write so many posts a week for so many weeks, eventually, I will be out of things to write about unless I keep fliing my mind with more information, or write information about the same topics over and over.  I am going to take the rest of the non-work day to journal and reflect on how far I have come since last February, and move on from there.  Let me leave you with a quote: 

Today is the first day of the rest of your life, and it could be the last.  Something about living life to the fullest, etc.”

One Response to Deep Sleep

  1. Liara Covert says:

    “Success is not final, failure is not fatal: it is the courage to continue that counts.”
    -Sir Winston Churchill

    Goal-setting can be challenging if you get wrapped up in what you’re not doing rather than focus on what you can do. It is during our most reflective moments that we tend to realize we wish to make a difference. You can define a cause or a mission even if its something you can complete yourself during part of today. There comes a point where each of us wishes to identify a role we can play in influencing the big picture. Remind yourself that you are already connected to everyone and everything. You only need to zero in on what will elicit bursts of energy from inside yourself to add depth. I highly recommend you get your hands on a book that might stimulate your mind, such as “Everyday Greatness” by Stephen Covey. Recognize everything you do has meaning and purpore even if you don’t get the gist of that yet. This is part of a journey.

Leave a Reply

